top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureM Hooker

Best Thing Since Radio


~ Kathleen & T.V. "The Greatest thing since Radio"

I got connected to DCSL through the Adult Day Health (ADH) program. My father, Thomas, has an Alzheimer's-based dementia. He cannot be left alone and he needs assistance with certain daily and personal tasks. I am his sole caregiver. He is a good-natured fellow and enjoys joking with other, even if his jokes are often "re-runs"! His middle name is Vernon and he will often introduce himself as "T.V., the greatest thing since radio."

My Dad retains little to no short-term or long-term memory. Rather he truly lives in right-this-moment. I am comforted with knowing that ADH fills each of his “right-this-moments” with activities, social activity, exercise, games, and puzzles. Puzzles are his favorite!

As I age, I aspire to continue thriving in the things that are most important to me. Being a part of a community, helping others, remaining grateful, and maintaining physical intellectual emotional and spiritual fitness are all activities and areas of interest to me.

As long as I can keep my Dad safe and myself well, I can keep my Dad home instead of in residential care. Having a safe, nurturing place for my father to be each day is a huge part of making it possible for me to meet my own needs with confidence that my Dad is well and safe. ADH gives me time for my own social life, activities and interests and rejuvenates me to provide his necessary care and to enjoy him on evenings and weekends.


- Kathleen Allen

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page